Being a girl shouldn’t suck as much as it does.

“Being a woman is a terribly difficult task, since it consists principally in dealing with men.”

Joseph Conrad knew what was up.

I’m so done with the pink and blue stereotypes. Why can’t we all just be purple. Then maybe people would stop asking me whose side I’m on.

I present to you.

Reasons to become a feminist.

  • We’re told to love our bodies but we exaggerate if get comments like “She’s too thin/fat” or “She’s ugly”.
  • Being pretty is the most important thing I’ll ever do.
  • Terms like fat or thin have become some of the worst insults you can receive. Somehow being ‘fat’ is way worse than being a shitty person.
  • Why are we more likely than our male counterparts to be asked about marriage and kids?
  • A man sleeping around is called a player and boasts about it to his friends. A woman doing the same is called a slut or a whore and is made to be ashamed of her sexuality.
  • Anything we like or enjoy is a joke. Come on. We’ve seen it with yoga, Starbucks, iPhones, bands. We spend our hard-earned money on music from a particular artist because they’re ‘pretty’. Look at yourself. Calling us deranged, crazy, obsessive because we enjoy it and it makes us feel good. Anything wrong with that?
  • Being a housewife is looked down upon. Being a MOTHER is looked down upon. As if labor doesn’t feel like every bone in your body breaking at once. As if raising children and taking care of a family and a home is an easy job.
  • Being ‘ladylike’ is nothing but being polite and respectful. Shouldn’t everyone be ‘ladylike’ then?
  • Men are afraid of strong women because they can’t exert their so-called masculinity upon them.
  • There is so much victim blaming when it comes to rape and sexual abuse.
  • Saying “No,” isn’t code for “Convince me.”
  • It’s funny how my clothes give more consent than my mouth.
  • People refuse to believe or acknowledge the wage gap.
  • Everyone goes pale and turn away if I say ‘period’. There’s absolutely nothing embarrassing about menstruation. I refuse to allow myself to shy away from handing out a pad or tampon in public.

You should too.

  • I was taught to take a blade to my skin every time I was to wear a dress.                     (I was talking about shaving. What else did you think?)
  • I’m asked if I have a boyfriend more than I’m asked about my mental health.

More women are deprived of their rights than ever.

“Not all men are like that.”

ENOUGH ARE.

Men can be feminists too. It ain’t a religious cult with an initiation ceremony, or something that you gotta be ashamed of.

Stereotypes do not define me.

Being feminine isn’t weak. We are stronger than they think. We are stronger than WE think.

Now its just time to do something about it.

 

One Reply to “Being a girl shouldn’t suck as much as it does.”

Leave a Reply

